The Open Post

by Stacey

At the end of last week, Kristin mentioned that I had come down with a fever. It was a strange virus that I caught from my kids. None of the usual runny nose and sore throat, just a fever. By Friday afternoon I was feeling better and by Saturday I was ready for action, as my dad would say. Problem was, I was ready for my kind of action. I wanted to exercise, read, hang out with friends, sleep, listen to music, anything but go back to doing kid-stuff. I was burned out.

Over the course of the day I grew increasingly surly and at about five o’clock I pitched a good ole fit. My poor husband didn’t know what was happening until it was too late and I was stomping around the house yelling and screaming at everyone. Banging pots and pans on the stove and waving the broom around like a maniac. The usual stuff.

So today I got a real break. It was great. I wrote for a few hours and then I went to a yoga class. I can’t remember the last time I did yoga. If you knew me before I had kids, and some of you did, that was unthinkable. I went to yoga at least once a week for years. It was so great to be back there. I started the class all tight and uptight and I left loose and calm.

It makes me wonder, do you all still get to do the things you loved before you had kids? What are those things and do you have to throw a fit to get to do them? It was like going back in time for me. Namaste.

3 Comments

Filed under burnout, kids, life, marriage, mental health, parenting, yoga

3 responses to “The Open Post

  1. i love the image of you banging pots and pans and waving the broom around. i go there too. reading your post made me pine for those long lazy weekends of doing nothing but whatever i wanted. i used to sleep in until 11 and slowly wake up by staring at the ceiling, just thinking. for the last four years, i’ve been brutally ripped away from sleep at all hours of the night. i don’t even know what my ceiling looks like anymore. no wonder we take it out on the kitchen.

  2. Actually, she hit me with one of those pots, and sure enough, my head turned into the shape of the pot. Isn’t that amazing?

  3. does that make you a pothead?

Leave a Reply

